

# Legislative Assembly Province of Alberta

No. 29

# **VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS**

Second Session

Twenty-Sixth Legislature

Wednesday, April 26, 2006

The Speaker took the Chair at 1:30 p.m.

### **Speaker's Comment**

The Speaker commented that appointments to the Privy Council are made by the Governor General upon the recommendation of the Prime Minister. All current and former members of the Federal Cabinet are members of the Privy Council, but the Prime Minister may recommend the appointment of other distinguished Canadians as well. While the Privy Council is constitutionally an executive advisory body, convention has limited the advisory duties to those members who are currently members of the Federal Cabinet. An appointment to the Privy Council is intended to be a great honour.

A number of Alberta's Premiers have been appointed to the Privy Council, including Arthur L.W. Sifton (1910-1917) appointed October 12, 1917, and Charles Stewart (1917-1921) appointed December 29, 1921. Both Mr. Sifton and Mr. Stewart received their appointments when they were named to the Federal Cabinets of Prime Ministers Sir Robert L. Borden (1911-1920) and W.L. Mackenzie King (1921-1926, 1926-1930, 1935-1948) respectively. Premier Ernest C. Manning (1943-1968) was appointed to the Privy Council on July 5, 1967, and Premier E. Peter Lougheed (1971-1985) on April 17, 1985.

All former Alberta MLAs who have eventually been appointed to the Federal Cabinet have also become members of the Privy Council of Canada. The most recent of which is former MLA Stockwell Day. Appointments to the Queen's Privy Council for Canada are for life.

#### **Members' Statements**

Mr. Danyluk, Hon. Member for Lac La Biche-St. Paul, made a statement recognizing the 20th anniversary of the Chernobyl nuclear power plant reactor explosion which occurred on April 26, 1986.

Mr. Hancock, Hon. Member for Edmonton-Whitemud, made a statement regarding BLAST (Bureau of Learners from Alberta's Speakers Team) and the importance of literacy.

Mr. Elsalhy, Hon. Member for Edmonton-McClung, made a statement outlining the Alberta Liberal Opposition's vision for democratic renewal in Alberta.

Mr. Chase, Hon. Member for Calgary-Varsity, made a statement regarding the need for democratic renewal in Alberta.

Mr. Amery, Hon. Member for Calgary-East, made a statement congratulating Zaheed Damani, recipient of a Leaders of Tomorrow Award at the 10th annual Leadership Awards held on April 25, 2006, in Calgary.

Mr. Webber, Hon. Member for Calgary-Foothills, made a statement congratulating several Albertans who were recipients of awards at the 10th annual Leadership Awards held on April 25, 2006, in Calgary.

# **Tabling Returns and Reports**

Hon. Mr. Zwozdesky, Government House Leader, on behalf of Hon. Mr. Klein, Premier:

Letter dated April 26, 2006, from Donald M. Hamilton, Ethics Commissioner, to Hon. Mr. Klein, Premier, with associated attachments outlining information relating to post-employment restrictions for Members of Executive Council under the Conflicts of Interest Act

Sessional Paper 428/2006

Mr. Oberle, Hon. Member for Peace River:

Letter dated April 10, 2006, from Barbara Brown to Whom it May Concern attaching a petition signed by approximately 800 Albertans requesting additional medical staff in the Peace River area

Sessional Paper 429/2006

#### Mr. Taylor, Hon. Member for Calgary-Currie:

10 recent letters from Albertans to Hon. Ms Evans, Minister of Health and Wellness, Hon. Mr. Klein, Premier, and Ms Pastoor, Hon. Member for Lethbridge-East, requesting increased funding for long-term care facilities

Sessional Paper 430/2006

#### Mr. Tougas, Hon. Member for Edmonton-Meadowlark:

10 recent letters from Albertans, unaddressed, requesting an increase in staff at long-term care facilities to improve working conditions and provide a more acceptable standard of care for residents

Sessional Paper 431/2006

#### Mr. Elsalhy, Hon. Member for Edmonton-McClung:

E-mail message, undated, from Sheila Haddad of Edmonton to Mr. Elsalhy, Hon. Member for Edmonton-McClung, expressing concern regarding the Federal Government's protocol for honouring fallen members of the Canadian military

Sessional Paper 432/2006

10 recent letters from Albertans to several addressees expressing concern regarding staff shortages and poor conditions at long-term care facilities

Sessional Paper 433/2006

### ORDERS OF THE DAY

#### **Committee of Supply** (Day 13 — Main Estimates)

According to Order, the Assembly resolved itself into Committee of Supply.

(Assembly in Committee)

And after some time spent therein, the Deputy Speaker assumed the Chair and Mr. Webber reported as follows:

Mr. Speaker:

The Committee of Supply has had under consideration certain resolutions, reports as follows, and requests leave to sit again:

Resolved that a sum not exceeding the following be granted to Her Majesty for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2007, for the Department and purposes indicated:

#### **Community Development**

Expense and Equipment / Inventory Purchases \$229,798,000 Capital Investment \$20,749,000

The question being put, the report and the request for leave to sit again were agreed to.

# Adjournment

On motion by Hon. Mr. Renner, Deputy Government House Leader, that it be called 5:30 p.m., it was agreed at 5:15 p.m. that when the Assembly reconvened at 8:00 p.m. it would be in Committee of Supply and the Deputy Speaker left the Chair.

WEDNESDAY, APRIL 26, 2006 — 8:00 P.M.

## **Committee of Supply** (Day 14 — Main Estimates)

(Assembly in Committee)

And after some time spent therein, the Deputy Speaker resumed the Chair and Mr. Prins reported as follows:

Mr. Speaker:

The Committee of Supply has had under consideration certain resolutions, reports as follows, and requests leave to sit again:

Resolved that a sum not exceeding the following be granted to Her Majesty for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2007, for the Department and purposes indicated:

#### **Innovation and Science**

Expense and Equipment / Inventory Purchases

\$143,554,000

The question being put, the report and the request for leave to sit again were agreed to.

#### **Government Bills and Orders**

## **Committee of the Whole**

According to Order, the Assembly resolved itself into Committee of the Whole, and the Deputy Speaker left the Chair.

(Assembly in Committee)

The question was put that Bill 24, Fiscal Responsibility Amendment Act, 2006, be reported, which was agreed to. With Mr. Marz in the Chair, the names being called for were taken as follows:

For the motion: 28

Abbott Fritz McClellan Goudreau Melchin Ady Amery Griffiths Mitzel Brown Hancock Ouellette Calahasen Jablonski Prins Johnston Renner Cao Cenaiko Knight Rodney Danyluk Lukaszuk Rogers Doerksen Webber Lund

Ducharme

Against the motion: 5

Agnihotri Elsalhy Pastoor

Eggen MacDonald

The Deputy Speaker resumed the Chair.

The following Bills were reported:

Bill 24 Fiscal Responsibility Amendment Act, 2006 — Hon. Mrs. McClellan

Bill 30 Persons with Developmental Disabilities Community Governance Amendment Act, 2006 — Dr. Brown

Progress was reported on the following Bill:

Bill 20 Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Amendment Act, 2006
— Mrs. Jablonski

Rev. Abbott, Acting Chair of Committees, tabled copies of an amendment considered by Committee of the Whole on this date for the official records of the Assembly.

Amendment to Bill 20 (Hon. Member for Edmonton-McClung) — Adjourned debate

Sessional Paper 434/2006

#### **Second Reading**

On the motion that the following Bill be now read a Second time:

Bill 35 Fuel Tax Act (\$) — Hon. Mrs. McClellan

Hon. Mrs. McClellan moved adjournment of the debate, which was agreed to.

# Adjournment

On motion by Hon. Mr. Renner, Deputy Government House Leader, the Assembly adjourned at 12:15 a.m. Thursday, April 27, 2006, until 1:30 p.m.

Hon. Ken Kowalski, Speaker

Title: Wednesday, April 26, 2006